top of page

December Drama Reviews: 2018 Edition!

DecemberDramas2018 blog header

Once a year, our friends on Twitter come together under the #DecemberDramas hashtag to give their take on the dramas they watched that year. In 2018, we were blown away by how many of you participated, and it was great to laugh, cry and rage a little over the year’s dramas together. (Note: we weren’t able to include every single one because there were so many, so apologies to those left out—and thank you all so much for joining us!)

As usual it starts with a call to arms by Saya:

Are you guys ready to kick off #DecemberDramas tomorrow? We’re going to look back on 2018 & review what we’ve watched in 1-tweet drama reviews (+gif)! We’re also going to cheat when necessary. I hope we’ll see EVERYONE take part, old friends & new! (PS check out last year’s fun!) pic.twitter.com/KckxlnmsvK — Saya (@notnowsaya) November 30, 2018

Below is a year in dramas by the most avid drama-heads we know —

DRAMAS THAT AIRED IN 2018:

I’m Not a Robot

This beautiful modern fantasy is also one of the best-written dramas of 2017. Strong female characters, a wonderful OTP and a plotline that asks hard questions about AI and feminism, this should be on everybody’s must-watch list.#INAR #kdrama #Decemberdramas pic.twitter.com/ZiAQw7FzOy — Dame Holly Is a Bot (@Lee_Tennant) December 1, 2018

To Jenny

#DecemberDramas 1: to.Jenny. Two hour drama special. A struggling, painfully shy musician runs into his first love, now a struggling idol. The highlight of this drama is the music, which gives it a nostalgic, wistful air. A memory that never was. https://t.co/IRSbbfvROo — Rimi 🌳💜 (@realgreenfields) December 1, 2018

Your Honour

So many dramas were cut in 2018 and one of the victims was #YourHonour. It was getting better every week until the Drama Gods cut to 16 eps. Its portrayal of workplace harassment in particular was excellent. It’s a shame it got ruined by a rushed ending.#Decemberdramas #kdrama pic.twitter.com/ZVqpOeTe54 — Dame Holly Is a Bot (@Lee_Tennant) December 1, 2018

Life

So I’m gonna start of #DecemberDramas, courtesy of the wonderful fellow dramaniac @notnowsaya, with my drama of the year: LIFE. Seriously, all, watch it IMMEDIATELY! pic.twitter.com/XLbbeMiE1j — Abdul R. Siddiqui (@PakistaniPepper) December 1, 2018

My Ajusshi

For #decemberdramas there’s really one thing I can say about #myahjussi Transcendently beautiful.#kdramas pic.twitter.com/y5UzPNyow2 — Dame Holly Is a Bot (@Lee_Tennant) December 1, 2018

I’m Not a Robot

Another reason why #INAR is so great: Min-kyu & Jia aren’t long-lost childhood first loves. They just 2 people who meet & fall in love w/each other bc of who they are. Isn’t that wonderful? Isn’t it refreshing to just love bc you love, without the burden of fate? #DecemberDramas pic.twitter.com/cWfyzYDt5a — Saya (@notnowsaya) December 1, 2018

Radio Romance

#DecemberDramas: #RadioRomance After #INAR in Jan, Feb came along & gave you a romance straight from the SeGa/pre-2012 workshop & you are like: I don’t like this kind of time travel. I want my modern drama heroes who are not jerks & heroines who are not pathologically naive. 🤮👎 pic.twitter.com/4lKAjke3Mz — Saya (@notnowsaya) December 2, 2018

I’m Not a Robot

In order of completion:#IAmNotARobot : A little draggy with the angst, but the couple was the best kind of yearning and the scooby science squad made the show. #DecemberDramas pic.twitter.com/15QPZQDXvr — librarianerin27 (@librarianerin27) December 2, 2018

Hwayugi/A Korean Odessey

#Hwayugi : It had issues *shudders at CGI*, but I appreciated that it told the story it wanted to tell and the casting was on point. I will forever have a soft spot for the pairings. Bonus: Cha Seung-Won is still uber hot, and Lee Seung-Gi ain’t bad. #DecemberDramas — librarianerin27 (@librarianerin27) December 2, 2018

Tempted/The Great Seducer

#DecemberDramas don’t be #tempted to watch #thegreatseducer sorry, even woo do hwan’s pretty does not make up for my lost 16 hours. (yes, i watched all of it. don’t ask me why) ((i will say this a lot)) pic.twitter.com/qm9Bro8Qct — sadhana (@sadqueenana) December 2, 2018

Are You Human Too?

#DecemberDramas#AreYouHumanToo : a lovely coming-of-age story wrapped in a futuristic premise. Though it had a rough beginning and an imperfect ending, it had some phenomenal episodes. I’ll hold the drama close to my heart for giving us SoBongie + Shinnamon, aka #RespectCouple. pic.twitter.com/qnpr6Z1gVB — Bams 💜🐝🌲🐱🦕 (@bammsie) December 2, 2018

Two Cops

#DecemberDramas 1: #TwoCops is pretty fun, overall. Jo Jung-seok is fantastic as always, and Kim Sun-ho was probably the Breakout Actor of 2017. You know, if Woo Do-hwan didn’t exist. And then there’s Hyeri… Alright, I’ll leave it at that. pic.twitter.com/WqjiwfZoke — Joshua (@KORegals)